Cats – Travel – Writing -Art – and Max-the Cat’s 2023 Journal

Hi! Happy holidays to everyone, whatever holidays you celebrate – or even if you don’t celebrate any holidays at -all celebrate life!

Great advice from me !

Also, great advice for me.

I’m like Alice in wonderland -Alice often gave herself good advice, and seldom took it. 

It’s easier to give advice, isn’t it? 

Well – I said I would try to blog once a week, so I am . Yay me.

Today I’m going to offer you more snippets of wisdom. 

First – if you’re trying to take a pet to Europe, it’s hard. You should start planning at least three months in advance. They have their own microchip system so you have to get their microchip put in your pet even if your pet has a microchip.

Then you have to get a rabies shot even if your pet is up-to-date on rabies shots. And lastly, you need to get a vet check up two weeks before you go.

Then they have to send the vet form to San Francisco (if you’re in the west) that is because there are only two vets for the entire United States who can certify the forms! This was changed recently, there used to be a lot more. But if you’re on the West Coast, everything needs to go to San Francisco and it will take them at least 10 days to get them back to you, which is very scary because it’s such a tight window before flight.

Here is Max preparing for the trip .

Yes. he has his own heater.

This isn’t Max, but the sentiment is the same.

I got a painter commission which is great, but really tight timing. Here is the beginning of my painting. 

I’ve got some stories coming out soon, which is always nice. 

Also, a book of mine, Gods & Monsters, that has been a long time and making it out into the light of day, is finally going to be coming out this next year. It’s going to be serialized on Metastellar. https://www.metastellar.com/author/ee-king/

Funny to say, the light of day, as it takes place mostly at night.

Each section will be illustrated and narrated by me. Hooray. I hope you will listen. or read it. I hope you like it and buy it and review it.

There are strange teeth in the story-hence the image below.

As I mentioned, I have a couple of other books that were tied up with a really bad man/publisher. Dan Kalin of Feral Cat Publishing was claiming that he and his daughter, Sarah Kalin, were the authors of my book!

I contacted the distributors, and they took the book down. After some bullying about sending me to prison, because that’s the kind of guy he is, Mr. Kalin gave me back my book. So Authors, if you get taken advantage of in this way, consider going straight to the distributors. 

And lastly, here’s a Christmas story for you. If you enjoy it, of course, please comment and share and do all that great stuff it was so helpful

.https://fabulistmagazine.com/im-dreaming-of-a-red-christmas/
I’m Dreaming of a Red Christmas

E. E. King / December 15, 2023 / Comments

I’m pasting the beginning in hopes it will entice you enough to read this short Christmas tale.

“This year I got a gig as a Che Guevara Christmas Elf at Happy Family Skating Rink. My friend plays a Chairman Mao elf. We don’t really have to do anything but glide around and look cheerful.

It’s a new kind of Christmas, more modern, more edgy. Most of the kids have no idea who we’re supposed to be. They wave and point, as if we were Goofy, or Pluto. 

Mao’s got it tougher than I do. Our employer, Margi, scion of Happy Family Skating Rink, is very “into authenticity,” so Mao has to skate around in the classic “Mao suit,” which has a long jacket and is difficult to move in. 

Margi dots her name with a happy face, “Just like Happy Family!” she says. 

Margi is home from college for Christmas, where she’s been studying new media, which is a lot like old media, but more irritating. 

“Having Che and Mao as our Christmas elves is all the new aesthetic!” Margi squeals. 

I don’t think Margi knows who Mao or Che were, but she sure knows what they wore… “

Nothing quite says Xmas like Mao!

Happy Holidays and have a fabulous, healthy, happy 2024!

PS. I am pasting Max’s journal from 2023 below:

The Journal of Max the Cat -2023

First of all, I wish to be known that I max the cat have come to Bonaire against my will. Catnapped if you will, without consulting me. The authorities never consult. Usually, they just dump me somewhere.

Catnapped! It’s very different from kidnapped…

Don’t let me talk about babies on airplanes.

I would have joined my voice in protest with their cries, but I’m drowsy, and woozy and too tired to howl. Why, because the large ones have DRUGGED me. Again.

I’m not fond of children at the best of times.

 We have come to Bonaire I am told, to go diving and work on coral restoration. I hate coral.

I would’ve been content to stay in Utah even though I don’t like the white sky flakes.

When they fall on the front patio, I run downstairs to check if they’re there too.

Then I run upstairs and cry at the front door until the authorities open it to see if they’re falling in the front too.

Then I repeat the route one more time, just to make sure there’s no door into the sunshine.

Be careful what you wish for. We’re in a sunny place now, but it’s all strange.

I croak my unhappiness to the world in protest.

Dutch Spca!!!

2 1/2 months ago I was catnapped and taken to Bonaire against my will. There is no catnip and no greenies here! The authorities have had to order it from the USA. How barbaric the Dutch are!

Still, I have grown to like it here. I think it’s Stockholm syndrome.

There’s good birdwatching. The Dutch have OK cat food with lots of gravy.

I am now ready to go explore the night.

I call to the authorities, singing the song of my people – people- or rather cats- who need to be free to explore the night. When they rise, I run with my tail way up toward the door, plainly showing them what I need.

But still, they ignore me. I think this calls for a case of intervention from the Dutch SPCA.

Today the catnip arrived. The authorities were as proud as they’d grown it themselves. But it was too early in the day for me, I’m no addict.  So, I ignored it and refused to go near my scratching post until a civilized hour for imbibing, 2:00 am.

Then, after a few exciting races around the apartment, I called the authorities to feed me.

It took forever! So, when they wanted me to come to bed, I hid in my cat carrier, someplace I have never gone willingly before, and watch them search.

I especially love it when they invoke the aid of deities they claim not to believe in. All in all, a pretty good day.

I was happily living in my home in Bonaire enjoying the fine Dutch gravy cat food, watching the birds, and spending the night looking at the glass through my Dutch rodent friends and figuring out how to kill them.

When, with no warning, consultation, or consideration the authorities drugged me and locked me into a small, black box. It was like a coffin with windows and treats!  Then we went on a plane. Again.

I hate planes!  Even though she’d drugged me, one of the authorities pretended to comfort me by holding me on her lap. Even though I was drugged, I managed to pee on her lap and made her sit in it for the entire trip! 

Then we went on another plane. though offered litter boxes, I held it till on the second trip the authorities picked up my box and pretended to try to comport me again!

I peed on them again, just to freshen up the scent.

Then, at about 4am, just when it was just time for me to be waking up they drugged me again. I think they are trying to kill me.

They piled me into a car for when I should’ve been playing with my Dutch rodents.

It was hard to fight sleep, but I did.

I sang them the song of my people for four hours straight, all the way to where they are now keeping me captive.

 I believe it’s a place where hardened criminals are sent to repent before they die. It’s called La Jolla. Please help!

About E.E. King

Writing/Painting/Pilates/Scuba/Travel and animals...anything that won't pay the bills. I'm an unintentional nonprofit I've worked with children in Bosnia, crocodiles in Mexico, frogs in Puerto Rico, egrets in Bali, mushrooms in Montana, archaeologists in Spain and planted butterfly gardens in South Central Los Angeles. The butterflies wish I had chosen a different location. Check out my website and read a story, or better yet buy a book, painting or audio. UnfortunatelY, All of the profits go toward animal rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment